Santa Fe Turquoise

Standard

One of the great things about this adventure turning into a side business for me is when I get to help my friends turn furniture deals into really great pieces.

My BFF found this great deal on a set of pine bedroom furniture for her daughter.

20130507-204729.jpg

There were 5 pieces in this set:
a toy box
3 different chest/dressers and a hutch/bookshelf. Initially I said “Sure, I can do that”. Then when it was delivered I looked around and thought to myself “man this is a LOT to paint!” I’m always up for a challenge so I got to it 🙂

20130507-204950.jpg
There was some kind of flower decal on each piece of this set and the great thing about chalk paint is that it goes right over anything so I didn’t even have to try and sand/remove it.

I started by painting 2 coats of CeCe Caldwells Santa Fe Turquoise:

20130507-205243.jpg

Then I did a coat of Annie Sloan clear wax and then a coat of dark wax to distress it using 0000 steel wool to work the wax in. You can see here the difference between a drawer that is just painted and one that is dark waxed and distressed:

20130507-205504.jpg
Once I’d finished the dark wax I went back over each piece with another coat of clear wax to seal it.
Here’s the finished set:

20130507-210254.jpg

20130507-210305.jpg

20130507-210313.jpg

On the hutch I chose to not dark wax the inside because a) it will most likely be covered with books and stuff and b) it would have been too much dark wax in my opinion.

Here’s the customary side by side comparison:

20130507-211008.jpg
I really liked using this paint. It had much better coverage than the yellow and I love the way each piece transformed. I did 2 coats on all these pieces and still had about 1/4 can left over. Best of all, the sweet girl I painted this for loved it. The greatest part of all this for me is when I finish a piece and the person I’m doing it for loves it. Best. Feeling. EVER!

I have a garage with 9 more client pieces calling my name so stay tuned…

~T~

Leave a Reply

